Posted by: Clothed In Joy | July 31, 2010

I Promise To …

never again make or even read another prostitute joke. 85% of prostitutes were molested as young girls and the majority have been forced into it in one way or another. According to the LAPD there are thousands of children in our country kidnapped or sold into prostitution each year.

never again stare if I happen to see a prostitute peddling her wares. The average age of girls going into prostitution is 12. Think about the implications of that!

never again look disparagingly at a prostitute long past her prime. Who was there to rescue her? Was I? Were you? Was she kidnapped as a young girl? Was she sold? What is her story? I know it would break your heart … the stories break mine.

never again watch movies that depict prostitution in a favorable or unfavorable light. It is an ugly, life destroying, evil beyond the imagination business, and I refuse to have any part of it.

never again believe that if it is happening somewhere else, to someone else that I have no responsibility. What if it were my daughter? Would I make jokes then, stare, be disparaging? Do nothing? Would you?

That woman on the street is someone’s daughter, often someone’s mother. God loves her and so do I.

dj




Responses

  1. This is something we ALL need to realize and learn . . . not only about prostitutes but also about gays, strippers, etc. We have no idea what brought people to the place they are in. They are all worthy of love and my goal is to try to give it to everyone. Thanks for sharing this. A real eye-opener.

    • Exactly, Rosalie, everything is summed up in love. Thanks for your comment and for your encouragement!

  2. I so agree with both Diana and Rosalie. Every human being deserves to be treated with respect.

  3. I’m halfway across the globe in a 3rd world country where even parents force their kids into prostitution and teenage girls get into it to pay their way through school. Just wanted to send you a note in appreciation of what you do and that I’m including your cause in my prayers. God bless your efforts and mission!

    • Karina,

      Thank you so much and I will include you in my prayers as well. God bless you.


Leave a comment

Categories